Invisible Life of Addie Larue

Invisible Life of Addie Larue

$15.17

Availability: In Store Purchase Only

Qty :

    share :
Darci's Review
The Invisible Life of Addie Larue is one of Schwab’s masterpieces. The story of invisibility that threatens to define Adeline’s life is one of regret, betrayal, love and hope. Living the simple life of a village girl in the early 1700s, Addie yearns to experience life outside her village walls. She wants to live in all ways possible, but the societal norms of the 18th century do not have the breadth to give way for one girl’s desires. Journeying through prospects of marriage and an unfulfilling life of a wife in the 1700s, Addie needs to find a way to push back the inevitable. Remembering what her eccentric neighbour Estelle teaches her of the old gods, Addie feels more inclined to trust them over the new Christian god everyone else worships. Although, one piece of advice Addie must follow is to not go praying after dark, as you do not know who will answer. What will Addie do to get the freedom she believes she deserves, and what price will she have to pay? I guess you’ll have to read to find out.
Everything about this book enthralled me. From the characterisation to the writing style, and the plot to the world-building. A beautiful and poetic novel about how humans have left their mark on the world for centuries, and centuries to come, while also being contemplative of how far someone will go for freedom and love. V. E. Schwab has made a lifelong fan out of me.


Producer's Review
In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

'When Addie La Rue makes a pact with the devil, she trades her soul for immortality. But there's always a price — the devil takes away her place in the world, cursing her to be forgotten by everyone.

Addie flees her tiny hometown in 18th-Century France, beginning a journey that takes her across the world, learning to live a life where no one remembers her and everything she owns is lost and broken. Existing only as a muse for artists throughout history, she learns to fall in love anew every single day.

Her only companion on this journey is her dark devil with hypnotic green eyes, who visits her each year on the anniversary of their deal. Alone in the world, Addie has no choice but to confront him, to understand him, maybe to beat him.

Until one day, in a second hand bookshop in Manhattan, Addie meets someone who remembers her. Suddenly thrust back into a real, normal life, Addie realises she can’t escape her fate forever.'