The 2021 Indie Book Award Winners



The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams (Affirm Press)


Honeybee by Craig Silvey(Allen & Unwin)


Phosphorescence by Julia Baird (Fourth Estate Australia)


Plantopedia by Lauren Camilleri & Sophia Kaplan (Smith Street Books)


The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor (Affirm Press)


This One is Ours by Kate O’Donnell (University of Queensland Press)


The Booker Prizes

The Booker Prizes
The leading literary award in the English speaking world, which has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over 50 years. Awarded annually to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The 2020 Winner

Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart (Picador, Pan Macmillan)

The 2020 Shortlist

The New Wilderness by Diane Cook (Oneworld Publications)
This Mournable Body by Tsitsi Dangarembga (Faber & Faber)
Burnt Sugar by Avni Doshi (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House)
The Shadow King by Maaza Mengiste (Canongate Books)
Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart (Picador, Pan Macmillan)
Real Life by Brandon Taylor (Originals, Daunt Books)

Pulitzer Prizes

The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded by Columbia University for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature and musical composition within the United States.
2020 Fiction Winner

The Nickel Boys, by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)

2020 Fiction Finalists

The Dutch House, by Ann Patchett (Harper)
The Topeka School, by Ben Lerner (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Past Winners
Visit here

Costa Book Awards

Launched in 1971, the Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular book prizes and celebrates the most enjoyable books of the year by writers resident in the UK and Ireland. Uniquely, the prize has five categories First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetryand Children’s Book – with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the year

2020 Winner

The Mermaid of Black Conch: A Love Story by Monique Roffey (Peepal Tree)

Costa Book Awards Shortlists
Visit here

Miles Franklin Award

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin, the prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

First presented in 1957, the Award helps to support authors and to foster uniquely Australian literature. Miles Franklin believed that “Without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil." She also had first-hand experience of struggling to make a living as a writer and was the beneficiary of two literary prizes herself.
2020 Winner

The Yield by Tara June Winch (Penguin Random House Australia)

Past Winners
Visit here