2019 shared Man Booker Prize

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood
Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

2019 Pulitzer Prize

Overstory by Richard Powers Click here for details.

2018 Costa Book Award

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor.,

2019 Miles Franklin Award

Too Much Lip by Melissa Lucashenko

Man Booker Prize


2019 (shared) The Testaments by Margaret Atwood
2019 (shared) Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine
2018 Milkman by Anna Burns
2017 Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
2016 The Sellout by Paul Beatty
2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North
2013 The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
2012 Bring Up the Bodies by Hillary mantel
2011 The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
2010 The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
2009 Wolf Hall by Hillary Mantel
2008 White Tiger by Aravind Adiga
2007 The Gathering by Anne Enright
2006 The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
2005 The Sea by John Banville
2004 The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst
2003 Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre
2002 Life of Pi by Yann Martel
2001 True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey
2000 The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
1999 Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee
1998 Amsterdam by Ian McEwan
1997 The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
1996 Last Orders by Graham Swift
1995 Ghost Road by Pat Barker
1994 How Late it Was, How Late by James Kelman
1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle
1992 English Patient by Michael Ondaatje
1991 Famished Road by Ben Okri
1990 Possession by A S Byatt
1989 The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
1988 Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey
1987 Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively
1986 The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis
1985 The Bone People by Keri Hulme
1984 Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner
1983 Life & Times of Michael K by J.M. Coetzee
1982 Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally
1981 Midnight’s Dream by Salman Rushdie
1980 Rites of Passage by William Golding
1979 Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald
1978 The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch
1977 Staying On by Paul Scott
1976 Saville by David Storey
1975 Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1974 The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer
1973 The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G. Farrell
1972 G by John Berger
1971 In a Free State by V.S Naipaul
1970 The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens
1969 Something to Answer For by P.H. Newby

Source website:



Miles Franklin Award


2019 Too Much Lip by Melissa Lucashenko
2018 The Life to Come by Michelle de Kretser
2017 Extinctions by Josephine Wilson
2016 Black Rock White City by A.S Patric
2015 The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna
2014 All the Birds Singing by Evie Wyld
2013 Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser
2012 All That I Am by Anna Funder
2011 That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott
2010 Truth by Peter Temple
2009 Breath by Tim Winton
2008 The Time We have Taken by Steven Carroll
2007 Carpentaria by Alexis Wright
2006 The Ballad of Desmond Kale by Roger McDonald
2005 The White Earth by Andrew McGahan
2004 The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard
2003 Journey to the Stone Country by Alex Miller
2002 Dirt Music by Tim Winton
2001 Dark Palace by Frank Moorhouse
2000 Drylands by Thea Astley and Benang by Kim Scott
1999 Eucalyptus by Murray Bail
1998 Jack Maggs by Peter Carey
1997 The Glade Within the Grove by David Foster
1996 Highways to a War by Christopher Koch
1995 The Hand that Signed the Paper by Helen Demidenko
1994 The Grisly Wife by Rodney Hall
1993 The Ancestor Game by Alex Miller
1992 Cloudstreet by Tim Winton
1991 The Great World by David Malouf
1990 Oceana Fine by Tom Flood
1989 Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey
1988 No Award
1987 Dancing on Coral by Glenda Adams
1986 The Well by Elizabeth Jolley
1985 The Doubleman by Christopher Koch
1984 Shallows by Tim Winton
1983 No Award
1982 Just Relations by Rodney Hall
1981 Bliss by Peter Carey
1980 The Impersonators by Jessica Anderson
1979 A Woman of the Future by David Ireland
1978 Tirra Lirra by the River by Jessica Anderson
1977 Swords and Crowns and Rings by Ruth Park
1976 The Glass Canoe by David Ireland
1975 Poor Fellow My Country by Xavier Herbert
1974 The Mango Tree by Ronald McKie
1973 No Award
1972 The Acolyte by Thea Astley
1971 The Unknown Industrial Prisoner by David Ireland
1970 A Horse of Air by Dal Stivins
1969 Clean Straw for Nothing by George Johnston
1968 Three Cheers for the Paraclete by Thomas Keneally
1967 Bring Larks and Heroes by Thomas Keneally
1966 Trap by Peter Mathers
1965 The Slow Natives by Thea Astley
1964 My Brother Jack by George Johnston
1963 Careful, He Might Hear You by Sumner Locke Elliott
1962 The Well Dressed Explorer by Thea Astley and The Cupboard Under the Stairs by George Turner
1961 Riders in the Chariot by Patrick White
1960 The Irishman by Elizabeth O’Conner
1959 The Big Fellow by Vance Palmer
1958 To the Islands by Randolph Stow
1957 Voss by Patrick White

Source website: