Behind the Scenes at the Museum

Behind the Scenes at the Museum


Availability: In Store Purchase Only

Qty :

    share :

***Winner of the the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year Prize



As the Lane Bookshop has existed just about forever and at one stage I was in my youth and now am in my old age, I thought I might take you back to some of our glorious old books that never lose their appeal and what’s more we usually have them on the shelves.


Rumour has it that Kate Atkinson was employed as a cleaning lady when she was suddenly informed that she had won one of the world’s top prizes in literature.


The book is completely non-conformist and madly original. Sharp, witty and she has us all in hysterics without even trying.


By the way have you noticed how few truly amusing books there are around?


Other Reviews:


'Little short of a masterpiece...Fizzing with wit and energy, Kate Atkinson's hilarious novel made me laugh and cry' Daily Mail

'An astounding book...without doubt one of the finest novels I have read for years' THE TIMES


'Delivers its jokes and its tragedies as efficiently as Dickens...outrageously funny...will dazzle readers for years to come' - HILARY MANTEL, author of The Mirror and the Light


More about the book:

Ruby Lennox was conceived grudgingly by Bunty and born while her father, George, was in the Dog and Hare in Doncaster telling a woman in an emerald dress and a D-cup that he wasn't married. Bunty had never wanted to marry George, but here she was, stuck in a flat above the pet shop in an ancient street beneath York Minster, with sensible and sardonic Patrica aged five, greedy cross-patch Gillian who refused to be ignored, and Ruby...

Ruby tells the story of The Family, from the day at the end of the nineteenth century when a travelling French photographer catches frail beautiful Alice and her children, like flowers in amber, to the startling, witty, and memorable events of Ruby's own life.


More on Kate Atkinson:

Kate Atkinson is one of the world's foremost novelists. She won the Costa Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her three critically lauded and prizewinning novels set around World War II are Life After Life, A God in Ruins (both winners of the Costa Novel Award), and Transcription. She was appointed MBE for services to literature in 2011.

Her bestselling literary crime novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie, Case HistoriesOne Good TurnWhen Will There Be Good News? and Started Early, Took My Dog became a BBC television series starring Jason Isaacs. Jackson Brodie returns in her new novel Big Sky.