Swallows And Amazons

Swallows And Amazons


Availability: In Store Purchase Only

Qty :

    share :

Gabi's Review

Swallows And Amazons by Arthur Ransome has been described as having “both a silvery present and golden retrospect.”  Released in 1994, the novel celebrates the spirit of independence, ingenuity and the power of the imagination. Captivating both children and adults alike through its world of adventure and old-fashioned make believe, the story invites us to embark on a journey of exploration and set sail to new horizons.

The Walker children, John, Susan, Titty and Roger, are enjoying a holiday in the picturesque Lake District. Their father being absent on duty, they persuade their mother to let them go sailing on a borrowed catboat known as Swallow. Adopting maritime codes and denouncing all adults as untrustworthy pirates, the children fend for themselves using campfire provisions and camping equipment. On Wild Cat Island, they meet the Blackett girls Nancy and Peggy, who own a superior sailing boat called Amazon. The two groups of children come together to camp on the island, where they hatch a plan to teach a lesson to the Blackett's Uncle Jim, a suspicious pirate preoccupied with writing his memoirs.

This leads to a series of thrilling events, including a dangerous competition, a confrontation with houseboat thieves, and the theft of Uncle Jim's manuscript. How the children ultimately resolve these challenges creates a gripping and satisfying tale.

Arthur Ransome's beloved Swallows and Amazons series has stood the test of time, with surprisingly empowered female characters to add to its appeal. In our contemporary social environment of helicopter parenting, the adventures of these “free range” children will continue to delight audiences both young and old.


Publishers Reviews

Rediscover this classic tale of adventure. The first in Arthur Ransome's charming, thrilling and inspirational series. The book that has set generations of children and their parents afloat, on the high seas of the Lake District.

The Walker children - also known as Captain John, Mate Susan, Able-Seaman Titty, and Ship's Boy Roger - set sail on theSwallowand head for Wild Cat Island. There they camp under open skies, swim in clear water and go fishing for their dinner. But their days are disturbed by the Blackett sisters, the fierce Amazon pirates. The Swallows and Amazons decide to battle it out, and so begins a summer of unforgettable discoveries and incredible adventures.