To Sing of War

To Sing of War

$32.99

Availability: 5 In Stock

Qty :

    share :

The breathtaking new novel from the Miles Franklin Award shortlisted author of Storyland, for readers of Anthony Doerr, Fiona McFarlane and Barbara Kingsolver

ABC Bookshelf: For those who enjoyed Richard Flanagan's, The Narrow Road to the Deep North

'Transcends the boundaries of historical fiction' Books+Publishing

DECEMBER 1944 In New Guinea, a young Australian nurse, Lotte Wyld, chances upon her first love, Virgil Nicholson, a soldier in the Allies' hard-fought jungle campaign. At Los Alamos in the United States, idealistic physicists Miriam Carver and Fred Johnson join Robert Oppenheimer and a team of brilliant scientists in a collective dream to build a weapon that will stop all war, while Kitty Oppenheimer wrestles with restrictions on her freedom. And on the sacred island of Miyajima in Japan, Hiroko Narushima is doing her best to protect her family.

Each of these people yearns to belong, yet each fiercely protects their independence. Secrets, misunderstandings and fears burden them; shame shapes them; hope and imagination lift them up. They are caught in a moment of history, both enthralled and appalled by actions they must undertake.

A beautiful, rich and intricately woven novel, To Sing of War asks how one person can make a difference in a world that is wondrous, thrilling and endangered. It insists on our interconnectedness, hums with the energy of the world and is a blazingly powerful and deeply moving account of friendship, love and war.

'Deeply intelligent and very affecting' The Saturday Paper