Travellers and Other Stories

Travellers and Other Stories


Availability: In Store Purchase Only

Qty :

    share :

Publisher's Review 

Carys Davies' short story collections Some New Ambush and The Redemption of Galen Pike (winner of the 2015 Frank O'Connor Award), now published in a single volume.

In a remote Australian settlement a young wife with an untellable secret reluctantly invites her neighbour into her home. On a red island in a rose-coloured sea, russet-haired women dream of a fisherman with hair black as night. A Quaker spinster offers companionship to a condemned man in a Colorado jail. Charles Dickens and Wilkie Collins visit a women's asylum, and the course of literary history is changed forever.

Spare, precise and charged with wit, these award-winning stories are set in places near, far and imaginary. Carys Davies takes us to a world where the lines between reality and fantasy, tragedy and comedy, madness and sanity begin to dissolve.

Combining two collections - Some New Ambush and Frank O'Connor Award-winner The Redemption of Galen Pike - The Travellers and Other Stories is a work of exceptional talent and original vision.